A Journey through the Timeline
1977 - 2020

Original Trilogy

The Original Star Wars trilogy series began in 1977 with the release of the film Star Wars (subtitled Episode IV: A New Hope in 1981) by 20th Century Fox, which became a worldwide pop culture phenomenon. It was followed by the similarly successful sequels The Empire Strikes Back (1980) and Return of the Jedi (1983).

Episode IV
A New Hope
May 25, 1977

Episode V
The Empire Strikes Back
May 21, 1980

Episode VI
Return of the Jedi
May 25, 1983

Prequel Trilogy

The prequel trilogy, released between 1999 and 2005, were all directed by George Lucas and received a more mixed reaction from critics and fans in comparison to the original trilogy. All six films were nominated for or won Academy Awards, and were commercial successes, with a combined box office revenue of $4.38 billion, making Star Wars the fourth highest-grossing film series and creator George Lucas a very wealthy man.

Episode I
The Phantom Menace
May 19, 1999

Episode II
Attack of the Clones
May 16, 2002

Episode III
Revenge of the Sith
May 19, 2005

Clone Wars

Star Wars: The Clone Wars, which premiered on August 10, 2008, was made to serve as both a stand-alone story and a lead-in to the weekly animated TV series of the same name. Warner Bros. Pictures holds the home media distribution rights to both this film and the first five seasons of the TV series, which debuted on October 3, 2008. The film grossed $68.3 million worldwide.

August 10, 2008

TV Series
October 3, 2008

Star Wars goes to Disney

In 2012, The Walt Disney Company acquired Lucasfilm for $4.06 billion.

20th Century Fox retains the physical distribution rights to the first two Star Wars trilogies

Walt Disney Studios owns digital distribution rights to all the Star Wars films, excluding A New Hope.

"We're thrilled to welcome Lucasfilm to the Disney family," said CEO Bob Iger.
October, 2012

Sequel Trilogy

The Star Wars sequel trilogy is the third film trilogy in the Star Wars franchise. It is being produced by Lucasfilm and distributed by Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures. The trilogy will consist of episodes VII through IX and follows after Return of the Jedi (1983) in the saga's chronology. Lucas originally planned a sequel trilogy in the mid-1970s, but had abandoned these plans by the late 1990s. In 2012, after acquiring Lucasfilm, The Walt Disney Company announced production of a sequel trilogy.

Episode VII
The Force Awakens
December 18, 2015

Episode VIII
December 15, 2017

Episode IX
May 24, 2019

Anthology Films

Disney's new strategy is to release a numbered Star Wars entry every other year, with "Anthology" films in between. Disney knows that audiences want more Star Wars, and it knows it will make billions of dollars off movies, toys and video games that include more Star Wars. So, a lot more Star Wars is coming. In fact, there will be a new Star Wars movie every year for the next four years. Considering there have been a total of six Star Wars films in three decades, to suddenly get five in five years is astounding.

Rogue One:
A Star Wars Story
December 16, 2016

Hans Solo
May 25, 2018

Boba Fett

Go to Home page